Magical Name

Sometimes a name will resonate with you. Often we read about characters that may have qualities that we aspire to. You may feel that you want to change your name when you are beginning a new page of your own personal story. That’s ok, too. You may become interested in a different path and want to choose a name that lends itself to a particular one.

My name is borrowed from the seven sisters. Maia was the oldest of the Pleiades, the group of seven stars in the constellation Taurus. The name has many different spellings and meanings depending on the tradition or subject. I chose this name because of the qualities Maia represents. She is fertility, mother, and known as the one who brings increase. At this time of my life I feel I am working on these qualities, and bearing the name reminds me to do my best.